New Year’s Writing Resolutions?

New Years often means resolutions: this will be the year I lose weight, find true love, make money, quit crack cocaine, etc. For us writers, it usually involves a book.

I’m not so good at this. Mine are three-fold. In no particular order:

-Finish the novel from NaNoWriMo of 2011. It’s been in limbo for 13 months since 50,000 words were created. Bad writer, bad.

-Get my other novels selling as much (or more) as the non-fiction titles. Then I could buy that Kia.

-Do a speaking/teaching seminar where I teach self-publishing methods. I might rent a BMW for curb appeal.

Okay, those are mine but what are your writing goals for 2013? I asked some writing friends and they said this:

-I think mine is to work everyday. From sending a tweet about my book to contacting reviewers to writing five thousand words – it doesn’t matter how big or small, I just want to keep the momentum going.

-I will have my book, Of Unicorns And Pegasuses, made into an ebook for Kindle. Even if I have to pay to have it done. I should’ve done it last year.

-Finish the book that should have been done last month.

-Plan to wrap up The Land of Betrovia trilogy this April and then begin a sci-fi/adventure series for teens!

-I’m at that dreaded 20,000 word mark, where not the ‘block’ but the ‘rot’ sets in. It’s that period where any other writing project seems preferable. So my resolution this year, and I know it sounds like a cop out, or a way to drum up support, but it’s that IF I get into the top twenty on [Authonomy], I’ve resolved to finish Canterbury Warriors within one month. That’s a promise to come up with another 50 – 60,000 words within 30 days. Like I said, it sounds a bit silly, but I operate best like that.

-Finish & then publish my 2nd novel by Sept ’13. Set dates for each milestone leading up to that goal & take those deadlines VERY seriously.

Interesting how some people (like me) have vague descriptions and goals while others are more defined. Hmm, that’s probably a good idea.

Click here for the home page of How to Make, Market and Sell Ebooks All for Free.
Subscribe to this blog for updates on what Indie authors can do to sell ebooks.

Bookmark and Share


add me to your Google Plus circles.

+Jason Matthews author

One Response to “New Year’s Writing Resolutions?”

  1. Shelly Thacker (@shellythacker) Says:

    Great goals, Jason! I have 6 New Year’s Resolutions for Indie Authors & just shared them on my blog http://shellythacker.blogspot.com/ Here’s to making 2013 our most successful year yet!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,708 other followers

