I think MyEbook is one Crazy Messed-Up Ebook Retailer

I just got an email from MyEbook.com that my novel, The Little Universe, has been read on their site 5,000 times! That sounds pretty cool, but I question it since it’s only the first 35% of the book and the rest is available at a promotional offer of only $1.99. It has resulted in zero sales.

To put some perspective on this, Smashwords has had the same sample downloaded 81 times which has resulted in 3 sales at $4.99. (Perhaps more soon as it takes time for many people to get to it.) Amazon Kindle has sold 50 copies in just a few months at $4.99 and $1.99 for a promotional April price. My own website has sold over a dozen copies in just a couple of months at $3.99 which isn’t bad coming out of the gates.

In fact, the same percentage of samples at Smashwords for all three of my books have been downloaded 176 times resulting in 9 sales. Again, that sales number could rise a few points once people get to it.

The same three books on MyEbook.com have allegedly been viewed a whopping 7,389 times in just two months resulting in zero sales! Nobody has left a comment or contacted me. Not one person after 7,389 views? Something’s not adding up.

Are there any authors with confirmed sales from MyEbook.com? I’d love to know what’s going on here.

2 Responses to “I think MyEbook is one Crazy Messed-Up Ebook Retailer”

  1. Kerry Dennis Says:

    Jason, there was a time when I tried to sell my music. I went from place to place singing my songs and recieved rave reviews and yet I only sold about 1% of the CD’s that I left for sale. My take on the situation was that people loved my music but didn’t want to buy it! I wasn’t a big star. No one knew my name and those that did had already heard me sing and didn’t feel they needed to get the CD or so I felt at the time. One day I asked my brother about this. He is the one who did the audio engineering for my CD. He has had people come from all over the world to do sessions at his recording studio because he is the best audio engineer in the US and maybe the world. He has been immortalized in the the Audio Engineers Hall Of Fame. What he told me was this: “Sis, you are about 100 years ahead of your time. In this day and age all people want, as far as music, is noise! Your music requires that one think about the words. People aren’t ready for that.”
    So, Jason, I might tell you the same thing. In this day and age most people just want to be entertained. They don’t want to have to think. Still, there are a growing number of people who want to think and want to find answers to the burning questions that they have in their hearts about reality, about life and death and the meaning of it all, so don’t give up! It’s a numbers game, and how willing you are to give your message a chance to catch on. Once it does, you are home free! Just look a the amazing success of the Celestine Prophecy!


Leave a Reply

