Another Google Ebooks Update, Will I Really Sell Ebooks there?

If you sell ebooks, then it makes sense to offer them everywhere including Amazon, Barnes&Noble, Apple, Smashwords, your own website, and most recently open for business, Google Ebooks. Since the last one on that list is the 800 pound newbie, I’m feeling out their service and admit the jury is still deliberating.

What’s odd is that I uploaded 4 books back on Dec 8th. It is now Dec. 27th, and I’m pleased to announce the 3rd of my books just became Live (available for sale) while the final book is still Processing strangely enough. Only one book went live in less than a week. Even more alarming, none of my books appear with a direct title search or a search of my name as an author. That’s pretty concerning not to find your books with exact searches. I doubt there’s a special function for that, since Amazon and others automatically take care of this. An email has been sent to Support for the answer.

While I typically sell several copies everyday from my own sites, from Amazon, Barnes&Noble and Apple, I have yet to sell even one copy from Google which begs the question if it needs some time to grow in popularity or if the platform just isn’t that great. Of course the fact that I’m not showing up in searches probably doesn’t help. Google does report that 1,619 pages have been viewed since Dec. 10th, but unfortunately I’ve only banked 23 cents in Ad Earnings. Woo-hoo.

One thought is this; because they don’t have an e-reader that goes with their ebooks, it makes me think, “Wouldn’t a Kindle owner rather buy from Amazon, while an iPad owner would rather buy from Apple, while a Nook owner would rather buy from B&N?” Seems logical anyway.

Ultimately it’s my opinion that Google is king for so many things and I love the many free services it offers that assist my internet experience, so my product will be on its shelf whether sales happen or not. Will I actually move any product with them? Not sure yet.

More results in time.

Click here for the home page of How to Make, Market and Sell Ebooks All for Free.
Subscribe to this blog for updates on what Indie authors can do to sell ebooks.

Bookmark and Share

One Response to “Another Google Ebooks Update, Will I Really Sell Ebooks there?”

  1. Tweets that mention Another Google Ebooks Update, Will I Really Sell Ebooks There? -- Topsy.com Says:

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by sell ebooks. sell ebooks said: Another Google Ebooks Update, Will I Really Sell Ebooks there?: If you sell ebooks, then it makes sense to offer… http://bit.ly/hVqLO2 […]


Leave a Reply

