My 7 Links Tripbase Challenged Ebooksuccess4free

Tripbase blogIt’s an honor to be challenged for the Tripbase 7 links, a blogging community that seeks to unite bloggers in a joint endeavor of shared lessons by identifying 7 great posts from a myriad of blogs all over the world. A now this blog, How to Make, Market and Sell Ebooks All for Free has been officially challenged. Feels like a throwdown with Bobby Flay. Bring it on.

Rule, rules, rules. Ah yes, here they are in a nutshell:

1)     Blogger is nominated to take part. Thanks to this blog in France, mine got nominated.

2)     Blogger publishes his/her 7 links on his/her blog – 1 link for each category. This shouldn’t take you long to do – don’t over-think it!

Over-thinking is something that will likely happen. Okay, checking back on the nostalgia of 14 pages representing 133 posts, here are my answers:

– Your most beautiful post. Aren’t they all beautiful? Admittedly, beauty isn’t the main aspiration of this blog; education is. However, this post on Translation Widgets for blogs with international readers and all the pretty flags must qualify as quite beautiful http://wp.me/pP9sI-7n. It was well-received, probably for aesthetics.

– Your most popular post. This little post on 2epub.com, really more of a blurb for a conversion tool to format documents like Word doc to epub and mobi generated more traffic than I ever would have thought, especially for a post of less than 100 words http://wp.me/pP9sI-2m. Just shows you never know what to expect after making a post.

– Your most controversial post.  Mine are not typically controversial at all, but this post on making covers for free was a subject many authors have strong opinions over http://wp.me/pP9sI-kB. My opinion is that it’s great to be able to make book covers for free. Many authors feel only a professional should make a cover. Controversy in the air? Eh, maybe a little.

– Your most helpful post. Wow, this is hard because they’re all so wonderfully helpful. Just kidding. It may have been this post on how to price an ebook since so many authors ask about that http://wp.me/pP9sI-ho. My philosophy is to target the major price points and when in doubt, keep it cheap.

– A post whose success surprised you. This post on adding a TOC, Table of Contents to Kindle books was far more successful than I would have thought http://wp.me/pP9sI-dW. Just because it was new info to me and felt like being shared, it still surprised me to see how many others found it useful.

– A post you feel didn’t get the attention it deserved. This post of the new age being the free lunch actually meant a lot to me, but not that many viewers saw it http://wp.me/pP9sI-7O. I really believe the transition to heaven on Earth can take place, but one thing that will have to go ultimately by the wayside is money.

– The post that you are most proud of. I’m fairly proud of most of them. This post for helping Indie authors understand on-page SEO practices for their Amazon books stands out in that regard http://wp.me/pP9sI-lm. It incorporates two of my better lessons into one post: how to sell ebooks and how to use SEO wisely.

3)     Blogger nominates up to 5 more bloggers to take part. Instead of outright nominating bloggers, my habit of rule-breaking comes in here and now, so if any bloggers would like to participate… please do so on your blog.

4)     These bloggers publish their 7 links and nominate another 5 more bloggers (unless they’re rule-breakers like me, and then they can continue however they see fit.)

5)    And so it goes on!

6)    We’ll be sharing the best posts from participating bloggers on our blog and everyday on Facebook and Twitter at #My7Links

Any queries – contact katie@tripbase.com and keep a lookout for the My 7 Links posts circulating through the blogosphere.

Have you been nominated? Check out the list of Nominated Bloggers to avoid nominating someone twice. This was fun, thanks.

Click here for the home page of How to Make, Market and Sell Ebooks All for Free.
Subscribe to this blog for updates on what Indie authors can do to sell ebooks.

Bookmark and Share


add me to your Google Plus circles.

+Jason Matthews

5 Responses to “My 7 Links Tripbase Challenged Ebooksuccess4free”

  1. Alexander Says:

    Interesting list you made here! Thanks for all the information!

  2. Stephanie Says:

    That was great Jason. I needed the reminder about 2epub. It’s certainly true that all your posts are helpful. I’ve learned a lot from you book and blog. Thank you.

  3. Graciela Sholander Says:

    Jason, every time I pick up your book, “How to Make, Market and Sell Ebooks All for FREE,” I learn something new and I can’t wait to get on the computer to try it! You’ve especially helped me with getting a blog going here on WordPress. Thanks so much for your valuable advice — I’ll be writing a very nice review at Amazon soon.


Leave a Reply

